Add to favorites
Log in to your personal space
The tree-lined path leading to the Château du Blanc-Buisson offers a glimpse of this impressive step back in time featuring red roofs extended by a surrounding wall and corner towers. The ensemble reveals itself in front of the drawbridge and moat which must be crossed to enter the stronghold. The defensive genius of the Middle Ages is showcased here in all its glory. Where then, does this sweet and peaceful atmosphere that envelopes visitors come from? On closer inspection, a myriad of details reveal an elegance and an art of living that make up the very soul of the building, with each era having made its own contribution to the splendour. What once served as the property's armour has become a fine set of jewels. Now open for events and overnight stays, the Château du Blanc-Buisson is nothing short of dazzling.
Blanc-Buisson has been passed down from generation to generation in our family. It has a special place in our hearts and we owe it to ourselves to maintain the chateau and bring it to life in order to pass the building and the history on to future generations.
The pentagon-shaped building is surrounded by a moat and was built in 1290 (the Middle Ages) during the reign of Philip the Fair. A stunning example of a property with both defensive and residential architectural features, also known as a fortified house, it is one of the oldest monuments in the region. Although it was remodelled during the Renaissance and at other points over the centuries, the chateau has retained most of its original buildings. The main building was built with sandstone in the shape of an "I", attached to it is a square keep topped with five watchtowers which is the ultimate place of history and defence, i seems incorporated into the whole build. Only a narrow interior staircase defended by an interior drawbridge leads to the keep and there are still many arrow slits and an opening through which pitch or boiling oil would be poured. Several bridges cross over the moat to the classified eight hectare park.
The fortified house was built by the Collinet-Lecomte family to ensure the peasants were protected from the brigands. In 1355, the stronghold was left in a state of ruin after it was besieged by the troops of King Philippe VI of Valois during his struggles against the count of Évreux and his constable Gervais Collinet-Lecomte, the grandson of the property's builder. In 1474, the Blanc-Buisson was passed to the Le Merle family through the marriage of Marie Lecomte and Jean II du Merle, and remained in this illustrious family of Normandy for more than three centuries. In 1500, a Renaissance-style restoration took place that nonetheless incorporated the "discretion" and "economy" that was so particular to the Normans. In 1801, the Blanc-Buisson was bought by Michel de Pillon de Saint-Philbert and passed on to his nephew, Louis de Baudicour, after the war of 1870. In 1856, the Blanc-Buisson was adorned with an English-style landscaped park which is now listed in the Supplementary Inventory of Historical Monuments along with the house. Le Blanc-Buisson has only belonged to three families in its seven hundred years and has only been sold once.
Tranquillity, revitalisation, nature, history and beauty are what characterise the Blanc-Buisson. Our visitors enjoy the exclusivity of the property and a warm welcome. Treated as distinguished guests in this lively and welcoming home, our visitors appreciate this unique residence that exudes a special sweetness and charm.
The Château de Beaumesnil, a small Norman Versailles, is a must see. L'étape Louis XIII in Beaumesnil, a delicious restaurant for experiencing Norman gastronomy. The Jean de La Varende museum at the Château de Bonneville in Chamblac; the author wrote "La Sorcière" which was set at Blanc-Buisson. The Amelias farm recently opened nearby and has an array dairy products made on site with good Norman milk. Also nearby are the works of Aurélien Boiffier, an original sculptor.
2000 € - 3000 € per week
900 € - 1200 € per week-end
La Réserve, a former cart-shed transformed into a gîte, can accommodate up to eleven people. It has a surface area of approximately 170m2 and two floors. On the ground floor is a large room with high ceilings that consists of a living room/kitchen illuminated by large bay windows overlooking the garden in the inner courtyard and two independent bedrooms. Upstairs, a mezzanine lounge area equipped with a large sofa bed leads to a turret fitted out as a sauna and to two bedrooms with private bathrooms and toilets. Outside, guests have can enjoy a terrace with garden furniture, a barbecue and a large private lawn. They also have access to the large swimming pool located in the eight-hectare park which they are free to explore.
215 € - 335 € per night
The Suite du Donjon is located on the first floor of the original keep and is reached via a narrow stone and brick staircase. It consists of a spacious bedroom with a double exposure on the interior courtyard and the park, two small children's bedrooms and a bathroom with a bath and shower. Breakfast is served in the traditional kitchen of the orangery.
Group tours of the chateau take place between 1 April and 22 September. They are for a minimum of ten guests and can be independent or with a guide. “Murder at the castle” is an original and interactive tour which can be organised on request for groups of at least twenty people in the chateau's keep.